Kudos to AOS Members! Spring 2024


Please join us in congratulating our colleagues on these many wonderful achievements!

J. Fernando Arevalo, MD, PhD, FACS: Dr. Fernando Arevalo was honored with the Guillermo Pereira Award and Lecture from the Venezuelan Association for the Development of Ophthalmology (AVAO) at the III Meeting Update in Ophthalmology, Caracas, Venezuela, March 8-9, 2024. His lecture was entitled “Lessons Learned and Moving Forward with International Collaborations in Retina: The Guillermo Pereira Lecture 2024.”

Ta Chen Peter Chang, MD: Dr. Chang assumed the directorship of the Samuel & Ethel Balkan International Pediatric Glaucoma Center at Bascom Palmer Eye Institute in February 2024, following the retirement of former director Dr. Alana Grajewski.

Michael F. Chiang, MD, MA: Dr. Chiang was elected as a member of the National Academy of Medicine.

Reza Dana, MD, MSc, MPH: Dr. Dana gave the Plenary Lecture at the San Rafaele Biomedical Center, Milan Italy, and received a medal from the Quinze-Vingts Eye Hospital of the University of Paris. In June 2024 he will receive the Harvard Ophthalmology Distinguished Research Award.

Tamara R. Fountain, MD: Dr. Fountain received the American Academy of Ophthalmology EnergEYES award given every year in honor of energetic service and mentoring to Young Ophthalmologists. Past recipients include AOS members, George Spaeth, Julia Haller, Mark Mannis, Susan Day, and Bruce Spivey.

Morton F. Goldberg, MD: Dr. Goldberg was the Guest of Honor at the Annual Meeting of the Retina Society, NYC, 2023. Dr. Goldberg was featured in video interview/biography in the History of Retina Series 2024 from ASRS.

Alex V. Levin, MD, MHSc, FR: Dr. Levin was appointed as a faculty member to the prestigious Center for Vision Science at the University of Rochester.

Marguerite McDonald, MD: Dr. McDonald was inducted into the ASCRS Ophthalmology Hall of Fame and was listed as the No. 22 most cited author in Refractive Surgery (Randleman JB, et al J Refract Surg 2023;39:78-88. 2023.) in 2023. She was also listed on The Ophthalmologist 2023 Power List: the 100 most influential and inspirational people in ophthalmology and was named one of America's Best Eye Doctors 2023 by Newsweek. Dr. McDonald won the 2023 Visionary Award at the American-European Congress of Ophthalmic Surgery, Deer Valley, Utah, July 15, 2023, and won the 2024 Jan Worst Medal Lecture, International Intra-Ocular Implant Club, Boston, MA, April 7, 2024.

Carol L. Shields, MD: Dr. Shields received the Theodore Roosevelt Award which is the highest honor the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) may confer on an individual. One award is given annually to a graduate from an NCAA member institution who earned a varsity letter in college for participation in intercollegiate athletics, and who ultimately became a distinguished citizen of national reputation based on life accomplishments. Each awardee is said to exemplify the ideals to which collegiate athletics are dedicated. Dr. Shields won this award in 2023 for her 4 years in Varsity basketball at the University of Notre Dame.

Carla J. Siegfried, MD: Dr. Siegfried was elected as President of the American Glaucoma Society 2024.

Michael A. Singer, MD: Dr. Singer received a best paper award from the Asia Pacific VitreoRetinal Society Meeting, Hong Kong December 2023.

Richard F. Spaide, MD: Dr. Spaide received the Arnall Patz Medal at the 2024 Macula Society meeting, which recognizes contributions in the study of retinal vascular diseases.

Hugh R. Taylor, AC, MD, FRANZCO: Dr. Taylor was selected by the Asian Pacific Journal of Ophthalmology as one of the top 24 most influential ophthalmologists globally who helped shape the world of ophthalmology in the 21st Century and "World EyeCon 21." They introduced him as Professor Hugh Taylor, the Melbourne Laureate Professor Emeritus, the University of Melbourne. He has been a leading Australian corneal and refractive surgeon and was the Founding Director of the Centre for Eye Research Australia. He has worked for many years to improve the eye health of Australian Aboriginal and Torres Straits Island people. However, much of his work has been about global eye health, including trachoma, onchocerciasis, and the harmful ocular effects of cigarette smoking and UV exposure. His H-Index is 108 and he has over 800 publications. He has received many international awards and Australia’s most senior public award, the Companion of the Order of Australia. He has had leading international roles as President of the International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO), and Vice President of International Agency for the Prevention of Blindness (IAPB). Lastly, Dr. Taylor ranked #2 in the “2023 Asia-Pacific 100 Most Influential Ophthalmologist” election.