Kudos to AOS Members! Fall 2022


Please join us in congratulating our colleagues on these many wonderful achievements!

Richard L. Abbott, MD: Dr. Abbott was elected President of Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis (AOI) for a 4-year term. AOI was founded in 1975 by Professor Jules Francois and is a university-centered international organization of 120 Professors from 34 countries. It is committed to excellence in education, research, and culturally appropriate medical services to preserve and restore vision for people of the world.

Deepak P. Edward, MD: Dr. Edward was awarded the Zimmerman lecturer 2022 at the AAO 2022 in Chicago.

J. William Harbour, MD: Dr. Harbour gave the Lex van der Eb Lecture at the International Society of Ocular Oncology Meeting in Leiden, The Netherlands, entitled “Metastatic Drivers in Uveal Melanoma” on June 17, 2022.

Mary Elizabeth Hartnett, MD: Dr. Hartnett was awarded the Gertrude Pyron Award for Research from ASRS in 2022. She also received the Distinguished Research Award from Departments of Pediatrics and Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the University of Utah in 2022. Dr. Hartnett also received the 2022 Award from Research to Prevent Blindness in conjunction with AAO for a 2022 Award for Iris Registry Research.

Martine J. Jager, MD, PhD: Dr. Jager received “Knight of the Order of the Lion in the Netherlands,” which is the country’s oldest Civil Order. This knighthood is conferred on individuals who have rendered exceptional service to the community, above and beyond what might have been expected of them. The King of the Netherlands only rarely confers this Order, which may be given for scientific or artistic achievements. The motto is “Virtus Nobilitat” or “Virtue Ennobles.”

Bennie H. Jeng, MD: Dr. Jeng was named the next Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and Director of the Scheie Eye Institute at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, effective July 1, 2022.

Judy E. Kim, MD, FASRVO, FASRS: Dr. Kim is a recipient of this year’s Secretariat Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) for outstanding efforts in advocacy and support of the Academy and ophthalmology. Also, she began her term as the president of American Society of Retina Specialists (ASRS), becoming only the second woman president in the organization’s 41-year history.

Alex V. Levin, MD, MHSc, FR: Dr. Levin was appointed Chief, Division of Clinical Genetics at the University of Rochester Medical Center.

Jennifer I. Lim, MD: Dr. Lim received the UIC Distinguished Professor Award – from the University of Illinois. It is an honorary title (UIC Distinguished Professor) to recognize persons who have made a significant impact upon their field through scholarship, creativity, and leadership. She was also listed #23 in Newsweek’s Best Eye Doctors 2022.

Michele C. Lim, MD: Dr. Lim was the recipient of the Faculty Stewardship Award at the University of California, Davis. She was instrumental in garnering the largest donation from an individual to the University in its 108-year history. Ernest E. Tschannen, a patient of Dr. Lim’s, gave $38.5 million to support glaucoma research, Department of Ophthalmology & Vision Sciences programs, and to name the Ernest E. Tschannen Eye Institute at UC Davis. Dr. Lim was also honored as the 2021 American Glaucoma Society Lecturer at Glaucoma Sub-specialty Day at the American Academy of Ophthalmology Annual Meeting in New Orleans.

Marguerite McDonald, MD, FACS: Dr. McDonald was the Steinert Lecturer at ASCRS 2021 and the Corboy Lecturer at Hawaiian Eye 2022. She received the Melvin L. Rubin Award at the Florida Society of Ophthalmology meeting 2022.

William F. Mieler, MD: Dr. Mieler has been recognized as a Distinguished Professor at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC). The UIC Distinguished Professorship recognizes faculty who have made a significant impact upon their field through scholarship, creativity, and leadership. This is among the highest recognitions that a faculty member can receive.

James G. Ravin, MD: Dr. Ravin has a new book being published soon with Michael Marmor – The Artistic Eye. Published by Kugler Publications, his book will be a hardcover in dust jacket with about 250 illustrations.

George L. Spaeth, MD: The George Spaeth Global Glaucoma Fellowship, an endowed fellowship of the American Glaucoma Society was created in 2020. Dr. Spaeth received the World Glaucoma Association Laureate Award in 2021 and the EnergEYES award from the Young Ophthalmologists group of the American Academy of Ophthalmology in 2022. He was listed in the “Power List” of the 100 most internationally influential ophthalmologists and was inducted into the Surgical Hall of Fame of the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Eye Surgery in 2022.

Richard F. Spaide, MD: Dr. Spaide received the Wacker prize at the Club Jules Gonin meeting in Dubrovnik, September 2022. The award lecture was entitled “Venous Overload Choroidopathy.”

Elias I. Traboulsi, MD, MEd: Dr. Traboulsi received the John C. Gienapp Award from the ACGME. This is given to one individual who has dedicated their career to GME.

David J. Wilson, MD: Dr. Wilson received the Charles A. Preuss Distinguished OHSU Alumni Award for 2022. Each year, one OHSU Alumnus from all specialties is recognized for their contributions to medicine.

Special Kudos

With no intention of diminishing the remarkable accomplishments of AOS members noted above, special recognition goes out to AOS member Paul Runge. Many of us have been appalled by the war in Ukraine, and as physicians can picture the devastation this causes in the delivery of health care. Paul can do more than picture these challenges as he traveled to Ukraine to volunteer his assistance to the providers of eye care as they struggle under the most challenging of circumstances. A couple of pictures from Paul’s trip: