Kudos to AOS Members! Fall 2017


Please join us in congratulating our colleagues on these many wonderful achievements!


Ralph C. Eagle, Jr., MD: Dr. Eagle, the Director of the Department of Pathology at the Wills Eye Hospital and the Noel T and Sara L Simmonds Professor of Ophthalmic Pathology, received the Hyla Bristow Stallard Medal and presented the Stallard Lecture at the biennial International Congress of Ocular Oncology in Sydney, Australia in March 2017. His topic was "Pigmented Lesions of the Conjunctiva".

Rick W. Fraunfelder, MD: Dr. Fraunfelder, who serves as Professor and Chair of the Mason Eye Institute at the University of Missouri (MU), Columbia, was selected as one of the MU Top Faculty Achievers at the University of Missouri for 2017.

Henry Gelender, MD: Dr. Gelender was selected by his peers and named by "D" Magazine as Best Ophthalmologist in Dallas for the 16th year in a row. Also, his practice, Cornea Associates of Texas, was named by Dallas Morning News as the Number 1 "Best Place to Work" in the DFW metroplex.

Karl Golnik, MD: Dr. Golnik, who serves as Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, received the American Academy of Ophthalmology Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dennis Han, MD: Dr. Han, the Jack A. and Elaine D. Klieger Professor of Ophthalmology at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee, received the American Academy of Ophthalmology Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Han also has served as associate editor and editorial board member of the Archives of Ophthalmology/JAMA Ophthalmology and today sits on its advisory committee.

Paul Kaufman, MD: Dr. Kaufman, the Ernst H. Bárány Professor of Ocular Pharmacology and Chair-Emeritus of the Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, in Madison, Wisconsin, received the 2017 Jonas Friedenwald Award ARVO. His lecture was entitled, Presbyopia and Glaucoma - The Missing Link?”.

Judy E. Kim, MD: Dr. Kim, Professor of Ophthalmology at the Medical College of Wisconsin, has been elected as the 2018 Subspecialty Council Deputy Section Leader for the American Academy of Ophthalmology during the Council Meeting in Washington, DC. Each member of the Council represents either a state or subspecialty society. Council Advisory Recommendations, which are debated at the spring meeting, serve as the Council’s formal mechanism to advise the Academy’s Board of Trustees. Dr. Kim also won an Honorable Mention Award at the American Society of Retina Specialists sponsored photography contest!

Walter Lisch, MD: Dr. Lisch, Chair-Emeritus of Department of Ophthalmology at the Klinikum Hanau, is organizing the 5th Joint Symposium of the Sektion DOG Kornea and the US Cornea Society together with the 2nd “Oskar Fehr lecture” during the annual meeting of the German Ophthalmological Society (DOG) in September/October 2017 in Berlin. The topic of the Symposium is: “Innovative conservative and microsurgical approaches to treat various types of corneal dystrophies.” The topic of the “Oskar Fehr lecture” is: “The evolution of keratoconus: from diagnosis to therapeutics.” The lecture will be presented by Michael Belin, MD, from Marana, Arizona.

Mark Mannis, MD: Dr. Mannis, who serves as Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of California, Davis, received the SICSSO (Italian Stem Cell and Ocular Surface Society) Medal lecturing on "New Therapies for the Ocular Surface: 1917, 2017, 2117" at the annual SICSSO meeting in Grosseto, Italy.

Shahzad I. Mian, MD: Dr. Mian, the Terry J. Bergstrom Professor, Associate Chair for Education and Residency Program Director at the University of Michigan Department of Ophthalmology, will receive the Straatsma Award for excellence in resident education at the annual American Academy of Ophthalmology meeting in 2017.

Ivan Schwab, MD: Dr. Schwab, Professor of Ophthalmology and Director of the Cornea Service at the University of California, Davis, gave the 2017 Keeler Lecture on the occasion of the Keeler Ltd centenary. The Lecture was entitled “Evolution of Eyes: Major Steps.” Dr. Schwab also gave the 2017 Charles Snyder lecture to the Cogan Society entitled, “Does my dog see in color? The Evolution of Color Vision.”

Jonathan Sears, MD: Dr. Sears, Associated Professor of Ophthalmology at the Cole Eye Institute, Cleveland Clinic, received the Cozzarelli Prize from the National Academy of Sciences, USA. The prize recognizes the top six articles that appeared in the multidisciplinary scientific journal Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences in the previous year. Dr. Sears received the award for his 2016 paper, “Comparative Systems Pharmacology of HIF Stabilization in the Prevention of Retinopathy of Prematurity”. Cole Eye Institute researcher George Hoppe, MD, PhD, is Dr. Sears’ co-author on this paper. Dr. Sears is continuing the family tradition of breakthrough scientific discoveries, as his father’s work in adrenergic pharmacology of the eye resulted in the development and approval of timolol, a beta-adrenergic blocker, for the treatment of glaucoma.

Jerry A. Shields, MD: Dr. Shields, Director of the Wills Eye Oncology Service, was invited to give the following named lectures:

  • First Johann Sebastian Bach Lecture German Congress of Ophthalmology, Leipzig, Germany. Changing concepts in the management of uveal melanoma over 40 years.
  • Jose Rizal International Medal Lecture, Taibei, Taiwan. Cysts of the iris pigment epithelium. What is new and interesting?
  • 8th annual James Jordan and Stanley Boland Memorial Lecture. Northeastern Eye Institute, Scranton, PA. Serious eye cancers masquerading as common benign lesions. (Co- recipient Dr. Carol Shields)
  • Annual Arthur J Bedell Lecture. Annual Wills Eye Hospital conference. Imaging of the ocular fundus since Dr. Bedell.
  • Seventh annual distinguished endowed lecture. Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio. Eye manifestation of systemic tumors.
  • The annual Phinizy Calhoun Lecture. Emory University Atlanta Georgia. The expanding clinical spectrum of ocular melanocytomas.