Kudos to AOS Members! Spring 2017


Please join us in congratulating our colleagues on these many wonderful achievements!


George B. Bartley, MD: Dr. Bartley, the Louis and Evelyn Krueger Professor of Ophthalmology at the Mayo Clinic, commenced his term as Chief Executive Officer of the American Board of Ophthalmology on January 1, 2017.

Reza Dana, MD: Dr. Dana, the Claes H. Dohlman Professor of Ophthalmology, Vice Chairman and Associate Chief of Ophthalmology for Academic Programs and Director, Cornea & Refractive Surgery, Massachusetts Eye & Ear Infirmary, was elected to Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis and received the Endre A. Balazs Prize from the International Society for Eye Research in 2016.

Stephen Foster, MD: Dr. Foster has now published over 1000 papers in peer-reviewed journals. In addition, Dr. Foster has endowed an annual lectureship in Ocular Immunology at Duke University Eye Center and has endowed a professorship in Ocular Immunology at Duke University Eye Center.

Thomas Gardner, MD: Dr. Gardner gave the Eva Kohner Lecture of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (in Manchester) as well as the Jules Gonin Lecture of the Club Jules Gonin (in Bordeaux).

Evangelos Gragoudas, MD: Dr. Gragoudas was named a member of the Ocular Surgery News “Retina 150” list, a select group of retinal specialists the editors and publisher have identified as leading innovators in the field of medical and surgical retina. The list is a compilation of specialists who either work to educate their colleagues or innovate by developing novel technologies and techniques to advance the specialty.

Lee Jampol, MD: The Cyrus Chung Ying Tang Foundation made a $3 million gift to create the Cyrus Tang and Lee Jampol Professorship in Ophthalmology. This endowed academic position will recognize and honor the contributions of longtime Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine faculty member Lee M. Jampol, MD. Dr. Jampol is a renowned investigator and expert in diseases of the retina and age-related macular degeneration. He served as chair of the Department of Ophthalmology from 1983 to 2010, was formerly AOS President and currently serves as the Louis Feinberg Professor of Ophthalmology at Northwestern. He also is chair of the Diabetic Retinopathy Clinical Research Network, which spans the United States and Canada and comprises institutions performing diabetic clinical trials funded by the National Institutes of Health. Amani Fawzi, MD, also an expert in retina disease and research will be the inaugural Cyrus Tang and Lee Jampol Professor at Northwestern. Nicholas Volpe, MD is the current Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at Northwestern University.

Mark Mannis, MD: Dr. Mannis, Chair, Department of Ophthalmology & Vision Science at the University of California, Davis, has been named the 2017 recipient of the Claes Dohlman Award for excellence in the training of fellows in Cornea and External Disease. The award will be given at the 2017 meeting of the American Academy of Ophthalmology in New Orleans. In addition, Dr. Mannis and Edward Holland have published the fourth edition of their two-volume textbook, Cornea (Elsevier).

Stephen McLeod, MD: Dr. McLeod, the Theresa M. and Wayne M. Caygill, MD Endowed Chair, Professor and Chairman, Department of Ophthalmology and Director, Beckman Vision Center at the University of California, San Francisco, succeeded George Bartley as Editor-in-Chief of Ophthalmology on March 1, 2017.

Joan W. Miller, MD, FARVO: Dr. Miller was inducted into the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) on October 15, 2016 in Washington, DC. Membership in this organization is one of the highest honors in medicine. The NAM is a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on health issues. NAM serves alongside the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering to “address critical issues in health, medicine and related policy and to inspire positive action across sectors."

Louis Pasquale, MD: Dr. Pasquale was named an ARVO Gold Fellow. The title of ARVO Fellow is an honor established to recognize current ARVO members for their individual accomplishments, leadership, and contributions to the Association. ARVO Fellows serve as role models and mentors for individuals pursuing careers in vision and ophthalmology research.

Zane Pollard, MD: Dr. Pollard was the recipient of the Tulane Medical School Lifetime Achievement award in 2016. The award "recognizes a graduate who has made significant contributions to the field of medicine, offered outstanding leadership in the community or exhibited lifelong dedication to Tulane”. Pollard received this award during the celebration of his medical school class's 50-year reunion. Pollard has authored over 90 papers in peer-reviewed journals and was the director of the James Hall Fellowshjp in Pediatric Ophthalmology at the Scottish Rite Children's Medical Center in Atlanta where he has trained 35 fellows.

David Sarraf, MD and William Mieler, MD: Drs. Sarraf, Mieler, and Bailey Freund completed the second edition of the Yannuzzi Retina Atlas (https://www.us.elsevierhealth.com/the-retinal-atlas-9780323287920.html).

Joel S. Schuman, MD, FACS: Dr. Schuman has been appointed Professor & Chairman of Ophthalmology at NYU Langone Medical Center, NYU School of Medicine as well as Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the NYU Tandon School of Engineering and Professor of Neuroscience and Physiology at the NYU Neuroscience Institute, Bellevue Hospital Center in New York.

George L. Spaeth, MD: Dr. Spaeth was ranked as first among the 100 most influential ophthalmologists in the world in a survey conducted by the British-based ophthalmology journal, The Ophthalmologist, this summer.

Elias Traboulsi, MD: Together with Virginia Utz, Dr. Traboulsi has published an 800-page textbook, “Practical Management of Pediatric Ocular Disorders and Strabismus” (Springer).

James Tsai, MD, MBA: Dr. Tsai, President, New York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mt. Sinai and Chair Department of Ophthalmology Icahn School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai and the Mt. Sinai Health System, has been appointed Chair, Ophthalmology Section, of The New York Academy of Medicine as well as a member of the Regional Policy Board of the American Hospital Association.

Stephen Tsang, MD, PhD: Dr. Tsang was elected to the American Society of Clinical Investigation.

M. Edward Wilson, MD: Dr. Wilson is the Immediate Past President of the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology & Strabismus (AAPOS) and will receive the Marshall Parks Bronze Distinguished Service Medal from the Children’s Eye Foundation for his service as AAPOS President. Dr. Wilson also received the Life Achievement Honor Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) at the AAO Annual Meeting in 2016.