Kudos to AOS Members! Fall 2023


Please join us in congratulating our colleagues on these many wonderful achievements!

J. Fernando Arevalo, MD, PhD, FACS: Dr. Arevalo was honored to be the 2023 Chancellor Award Lecturer in Neuroscience and Ophthalmology at Louisiana State University for his academic leadership and exceptional contributions to the understanding of diabetic retinopathy. His lecture was titled ‘What if Diabetic Retinopathy Patients Are Lost to Follow-Up?’ He also delivered the Moacyr E. Alvaro Pan-American Lecture 2023 at the 35th Pan-American Congress of Ophthalmology in Buenos Aires, Argentina on the topic of ‘Surgery for Infectious Retinitis – When Medical Therapy is not Sufficient’ where he was named an Honorary Member of the Argentinian Council of Ophthalmology.

Francesco Bandello, MD, FEBO: Dr. Bandello received the 2023 The Mills and Margaret Cox Macula Society Research Grant sponsored by the Retina Research Foundation for his project ‘From diagnostics to prognosis and response prediction: integrating imaging with genetics in patients with retinal vein occlusion.’

Michael F. Chiang, MD, MA: Dr. Chiang was elected to the National Academy of Medicine. He began working at the National Eye Institute in November 2020 and currently serves as Co-Chair of the NIH Scientific Data Council, Co-Chair of an NIH Working Group for High-Value Data Asset Sustainability, Chair of an NIH Clinical Trials Infrastructure Working Group, Co-Chair of the NIH Medical Imaging Working Group, Co-Chair of the NIH AIM-AHEAD Advisory Committee, and Co-Chair of the NIH Common Fund Bridge2AI program.

Bita Esmaeli, MD, FACS: Dr. Esmaeli received the Wendel Hughes Award from the American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery in 2022 and gave the associated honorary lecture at AAO 2022.

Morton F. Goldberg, MD: Dr. Goldberg was the 2022 recipient of the Laureate Award of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, the highest award of the AAO.

David Huang, MD, PhD: Dr. Huang was elected to the National Academy of Engineering, as well as awarded the Debakey Lasker Award, and the National Medal for Technological Innovation.

Carol L. Karp, MD: Dr. Karp received the Castroviejo Medal Award from the Cornea Society at AAO 2022 and gave her lecture on the use of anterior segment OCT in the management of ocular surface tumors.

Jennifer I. Lim, MD: Dr. Lim received the UIC Ophthalmology Alumna of the Year Award and the American Society of Retinal Specialists (ASRS) Presidential Honor Award. 

Christopher J. Rapuano, MD: Dr. Rapuano received the Claes Dohlman Award from the Cornea Society on 11/3/23 in San Francisco. Per the Cornea Society: "The Dohlman Award is given to recognize a lifetime of teaching excellence in the field of cornea and external disease and for contributions to the profession." 

J. Sebag, MD, FACS, FRCOphth, FARVO: Dr. Sebag delivered the Meyer-Schwickerath Lecture to the 35th International Congress of the German Society of Ophthalmic Surgery, entitled ‘Vitreous and the Lens – a Tale of Two Media.’

Johanna M. Seddon, MD, ScM, FARVO, FASRS: Dr. Seddon received the 2032 Founders Award from the American Society of Retina Specialists (ASRS). She was named the Residency Program Director and Interim Chair, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, UMass Chan Medical School, and UMass Memorial Health.

Kent W. Small, MD, PhD: Dr. Small won medals in the 200m butterfly and 400m individual medley at the US National Masters swim meet in Irvine, California.

Richard F. Spaide, MD: Dr. Spaide was the Keynote Speaker at the Argentine Society of Retina and Vitreous and the Alexander Invite Lecture at the Pacific Retina Club in San Francisco.

Hugh R. Taylor, AC, MD, FRANZCO: Dr. Taylor received the RANZCO Distinguished Service Award for Indigenous Eye Health. He also received the Best Paper Award, Public Health Research and Practice for Huang-Lung et al, ‘The true cost of hidden waiting times for cataract surgery in Australia.’

Steven E. Wilson, MD: Dr. Wilson received the Military Health System Research Symposium Outstanding Research Award for Individual Academia/Industry research accomplishment for discovering the efficacy of topical losartan in treating corneal and conjunctival scarring fibrosis after injury or disease. He also received the IRSR-AAO Presidential Recognition Award for career contribution to the field of refractive surgery and to the ISRS as well as a SINBOS Star on Ophthalmology Walk of Fame at the SINBOS Annual Ophthalmology Meeting in Sorocaba, Sao Paulo, Brazil.